Saturday, June 17, 2017

Sistine Chapel

Scenes from the Life of Moses (1481-1482) The Punishment of Korah, Dathan, and Abiram (1482) The Temptation of Christ (1481-1482)

The Calling of Peter and Andrew (1481-1482) Ruth and Obed (1508-1512) The Last Judgement (1534-1541)

The Last Judgement (detail 1) (1534-1541) The Last Judgement (detail 2) (1534-1541) Jesus Handing the Keys to Peter (1481-82)

Moses' Journey into Egypt (c. 1482) The Baptism of Christ (c. 1482)

Moses and the Tables of the Law (1481-1482) The sermon on the mount (1481-1482)

Sistine Chapel
The Sistine Chapel is a chapel in the Apostolic Palace, the official residence of the Pope, in Vatican City. Originally known as the Cappella Magna, the chapel takes its name from Pope Sixtus IV, who restored it between 1477 and 1480. Since that time, the chapel has served as a place of both religious and functionary papal activity.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.